James Mayberry Great Bend KSBA Hall of Fame Service - 2011

It all began in 1974 while going to college, James began bowling in a league with a bunch of guys from work. He was hooked and has not stopped bowling since three or four nights a week and going to several tournaments per year as well. In 1980, James became a league secretary for the first time and became much more involved in the administrative side of the game. After moving to Great Bend in 1982, James began bowling in three leagues and was secretary in each league. In 1988, Alvin Otte, Great Bend BA Association Manager (the same person who got him to bowl in three leagues and secretary them as well) asked him if he would consider being an Association Secretary, as Alvin wanted to retire from that job. Of course, he did-and has been Association Secretary / Manager ever since.

In 1996, Alvin Otte asked Jim if he would consider serving on the KSBA Board of Directors, James is still on the board as well. In addition, he has been a member of the Bowling Council since 2009 and a Board Member of the Kansas USBC Youth Board since 2010.

In 1997, James purchased the local bowling center wanting to get that center up to date and make it a good place to bowl. In 2006, he began managing the center full time and loves every minute of it. He became very involved in youth bowling and became a Bronze Level coach, in 2006. In 2007, with the help of Great Bend Youth Board President Neal Herrman, both became actively involved with the High School Board and accomplished getting bowling implemented at Great Bend High School. James was hired as Assistant Coach of the High School team in 2009. In addition, James coaches four youth leagues as well as giving private lessons.

James has received various bowling awards, one of which is a 300 game, as well as multiple 700 series, numerous local top 5 average awards and local city tournament championships. He has bowled in the Greater Ozarks Open, KSBA Tournament, and USBC National Tournament for 24 consecutive years.

James was the first State President in the newly merged Kansas State USBC.